Supreme Stakes Betting

At the end of August each year, the Goodwood Racecourse stages a two-day celebration of horse racing and summer fun for families known as the August Bank Holiday Weekend. Sunday, the second day of the meeting, is “Family Fun Day,” when children under 18 receive free admission and the most anticipated racing feature on the card is the Group 3 Supreme Stakes.

This £65,000 sprint covers a distance of seven furlongs on the right-handed turf of the Goodwood track. The event is open to Thoroughbreds aged three years and upwards. The youngest runners each carry a weight of eight stone nine pounds, while those aged four years and older must bear nine stone even.

There is an allowance of three pounds for fillies and mares. Penalties are applied to entries that have finished first in meetings since 1st November of the previous year. They amount to ten pounds for Group 1 winners, seven pounds for Group 2 winners and four pounds for Group 3 winners.

When this event was inaugurated in 1981, it was called the Harroways Stakes and classified at the Listed level. Six years later, the race was promoted to Group 3 status and its name was changed to the Supreme Stakes. In those days, the running was unsponsored as part of the Goodwood schedule in late September or early October.

From 1994 to 2003, the event went by the name Charlton Hunt Supreme Stakes. Then, in 2004, Citigroup became its first title sponsor. They were followed in 2005-06 by Merbury Catering Consultants. When the timing of the race was moved up to the current August fixture in 2007, it was again called the Charlton Hunt Supreme Stakes. For the 2008 edition, KBC was the primary backer, but since 2009 the event has been held only under its registered name as the Supreme Stakes.

Since 1981, two different winning horses have managed to earn repeat victories in the Supreme Stakes. The first to accomplish the feat was Sarab, reaching the finish post first in 1984 and the returning for a second triumph in 1986. A decade later, Decorated Hero claimed wins in 1997-98 back-to-back—the only horse to do so.

Sarab’s rider Richard Quinn was the first of two jockeys to chalk up three victories in the Supreme Stakes. His third win came aboard Inzar in 1995. Following up with three successes of his own here was Frankie Dettori. Decorated Hero’s second victory gave the Italian rider his first win, which he added to with first-place finishes on Firebreak in 2002 and With Reason in 2003.

Among trainers, John Gosden tops the Supreme Stakes leader board. In 1990, he got his initial taste of victory thanks to Anshan, followed by the double with Decorated Hero. His other two wins came from Mount Abu in 2000 and Stronghold in 2006.

Those looking for trends to follow in picking potential winners here might want to heed the bookmakers’ advice. Since the turn of the new millennium they have predicted the outcome correctly on four of eleven occasions, including Mount Abu and Stronghold, both at 2/1. Their other successful forecasts were with Late Night Out at evens in 2001 and the 2002 favourite, Firebreak, delivering at 5/4. The one time they missed badly was in 2004, when Mac Love paid 12/1.

Three horses have succeeded as six-year-olds in the Supreme Stakes since 1981. They include Decorated Hero the second time out, Late Night Out and Ordnance Row in 2009. Five-year-olds have succeeded twice since the race was abandoned in 1999 due to a waterlogged track. Four-year-olds have put up three wins in that time period, while three-year-olds have added four.

Go To bet365
Open Account Offer
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365.
Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.
Comment on this event
Your Name:
Your Email:
What is  + 7