Wokingham Stakes Betting

The fifth and final day of the Royal Ascot meeting in June offers a dramatic climax to one of the calendar’s premier festivals of racing, pageantry and fashion. The highlight of the day’s six-race card is the £450,000 Golden Jubilee Stakes, which is immediately followed by a much anticipated Heritage Handicap sprint—the £100,000 Wokingham Stakes.

This six-furlong event takes place on the straight turf of the famed Ascot Racecourse. It is open to Thoroughbreds aged three years and upwards, typically attracting a field of 25 to 30 entrants. The race has been conducted here since 1813 and it takes its name from the market town called Wokingham, which is located just west of Ascot.

During its first few decades, the Wokingham Stakes was divided into several separate classes. In 1874, they were consolidated into a single race. Among the early winners were the Duke of York’s own Pointers for the inaugural running and horse named Wokingham, which succeeded not only in 1881, but also the following year to become the event’s first double winner.

Other great sprinters that have had consecutive victories here include Portland Bay in 1908-09 and Concerto in 1932-33. The most recent runner to claim back-to-back wins at the Wokingham Stakes was Selhurstpark Flyer in 1997-98.

No fewer than seven different jockeys have had three victories over the six furlongs. Two of them accomplished it in the 19th century—Fred Archer on Trappist in 1878, Despair in 1883 and Energy in 1884, and Otto Madden aboard Oatlands in 1894, Kilcock in 1896 and Minstrel in 1898.

During the 20th century, four riders earned their trio of wins. In addition to his double with Concerto, Harry Wragg rode to victory on Santaquest in 1921. He was followed by Jack Sirett, who had success on Lucky Jordan in 1947, White Cockade in 1948 and Jupiter in 1953. Then came Lester Piggott with wins atop Malka’s Boy in 1952, Ginnies Pet in 1974 and Boone’s Cabin in 1975, along with Willie Carson winning on Plummet in 1973, Great Eastern in 1981 and Time Machine in 1985.

In the opening years of the 21st century, one jockey has already joined this illustrious crowd. Johnny Murtagh got his first win here aboard Nice One Clare in 2001, and he then guided Laddies Poker Two to victory in 2010 before adding Deacon Blues in 2011.

Similarly, four trainers each have three Wokingham Stakes wins to their credit. Trappist’s trainer Joe Cannon was first among them, also schooling Rosbach in 1877 and Warrior in 1880. Next came Richard Marsh with Oatlands and Minstrel before gaining his third victory from Golden Gleam in 1906. He was soon joined by Charles Morton, who trained His Lordship in 1902 and the double victor Portland Bay. The latest member of this elite group is Paul Cole, getting wins with Calibina in 1977, Queen`s Pride in 1980 and Bel Byou in 1987.

As it turned out, Bel Byou was the last three-year-old to succeed here. Since then, four-year-olds have claimed a dozen victories, while five-year-olds have gained eight, including a dead heat in 2003. Six-year-olds have contributed four times to the roster of honour since 1987, and there is one seven-year-old listed, too—that being the Irish bay gelding Selhurstpark Flyer in his second triumph at the Wokingham Stakes.

Since the turn of the new millennium, favourites have triumphed on four occasions: Nice One Clare at 7/1, Lafi at 6/1 in 2004, Iffraaj at 9/4 in 2005 and Laddies Poker Two at 9/2. The longest odds winner of late was Dark Missile paying 22/1 in 2007.

Go To bet365
Open Account Offer
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365.
Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.
Comment on this event
Your Name:
Your Email:
What is  + 7