Breeders Cup Turf Betting

The Breeders Cup Turf is a prestigious Group One, ‘weight for age’ thoroughbred horse race, held annually at a different track in North America as part of the Breeders Cup meeting.

The race, usually run at the end of October or beginning of November, is open to three year olds and above and is run over 1 mile and 4 furlongs – the same distance as races such as the English Derby and Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe.

From 1952 to 1984, the race was known as the Washington D.C. International Stakes before its switch to be incorporated into the Breeders Cup meeting. Carrying over $3 million in prize money, the Breeders Cup Turf is also widely recognised as one of the richest horse races in the world, a feature indeed akin to most of the other races at the meeting.

Essentially, the race is seen as the last major one and a half mile turf event of the flat season. Coupled with the prestige and prize purse on offer, it consequently attracts a mix of the very best middle distance racehorses from around the world.

As of 2009, horses can automatically qualify for the race by winning one of the five races set out in the ‘Breeders Cup Challenge’ series earlier in the season.

These races are the Arlington Million, Champion Stakes, Irish Champion Stakes, Canadian International and United Nations Stakes. This process unquestionably ensures that the Breeders Cup Turf consistently boasts a top quality, diverse line-up of racing talent.

Some of the sport’s most popular personalities have reaped great rewards in this race over the past few years, as have a number of famous and familiar horses that will remain long in the memory.

Prolific British trainer Michael Stoute has enjoyed four victories in the race overall, currently making him the most successful trainer in the race’s history.

The great Conduit was responsible for handing Stoute half of those triumphs after scoring in 2008 and 2009, adding to previous victories from Pilsudski in 1996 and Kalanisi in 2000.

Jockey Frankie Dettori has also entered the winner’s enclosure on four occasions, the latest coming in 2010 after he rode Dangerous Midge to victory for trainer Brian Meehan. Dettori also won the race in 1999 with Daylami, 2001 with Fantastic Light and 2006 with Red Rocks.

Although it is sheer folly to solely back the jockey in any horse race, the mount of the Italian is certainly an added bonus to any selection made in the race judging by his past experiences.

Ultimately, a great deal of analysis can be formed as to what type of profile a horse needs to win the race, however it is extremely hard to ascertain a clear winner on most occasions as European and North American form rarely crosses over at any point prior to the race itself.

Arguably, the Champion Stakes is the strongest out of the qualifying races, so it is likely that the winner of that particular race will not be too far away.

It is important to note however that some horses may be past their peak with the race coming so late in the season, so positive preparation or wellbeing news is a must before a betting investment is made.

Go To bet365
Open Account Offer
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365.
Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.
Comment on this event
Your Name:
Your Email:
What is  + 7