Coronation Stakes Betting

The £250,000 Coronation Stakes is the feature race on Day Four of the annual Royal Ascot meeting in June. It takes place on the same card as the King Edward VII Stakes, which is unofficially referred to as the “Ascot Derby,” owing to its similarities with the Epsom Classic.

Open to three-year-old Thoroughbred fillies, the Coronation Stakes is a Group 1 flat horse race that covers a distance of one mile on the right-hand turf of the Ascot Racecourse. All runners carry nine stone, with no penalties for wins on previous outings.

The race was first run in 1840 to commemorate the coronation of Queen Victoria as the new British monarch in 1838. That inaugural event was won by a horse named Spangle, kicking off a succession of winners that appeared somewhat lacklustre after Pretty Polly took to the track and won in 1904. Pretty Polly went on that year to win the British Fillies Triple crown (the 1,000 Guineas Stakes, Epsom Oaks and St. Leger Stakes) and in 1904-05 she completed back-to-back victories in Ascot’s Coronation Cup.

When the current system of race grading was introduced in 1971, the Coronation Stakes received Group 2 status. It was promoted to Group 1 in 1988 and has remained their ever since. Many of the fillies entered here were previously contestants in the 1,000 Guineas, the Irish 1,000 Guineas or the Poule d’Essai des Pouliches.

Because three-year-olds may compete in this race only once in their careers, there have been, of course, no repeat winners. But among jockeys, it is a different story entirely. During the 19th century, two riders dominated the scene, winning five times apiece. Nat Flatman did it aboard The Princess in 1844, Stitch in 1845, Distaffina in 1848, Lady Evelyn in 1849 and Barcelona in 1851. Then, Morny Cannon took his wins on Lady Hermit in 1892, Silene in 1893, Throstle in 1894, Helm in 1896 and Lowood in 1898.

More recently, retired jockey Walter Swinburn set the pace with four victories. They came on Sonic Lady, in 1985, Milligram in 1986, Marling in 1992 and Exclusive in 1998. Since then, no other rider has claimed more than a single Coronation Stakes winner’s title, an indication of just how difficult and competitive this prestigious race can be.

Trainers find it equally hard to dominate here. John Porter was the one to beat in the 19th century, training five Coronation Stakes winners between 1883 and 1898. Owner Waldorf Astor, the 2nd Viscount Astor, used several trainers to ready his seven victors between 1910 and 1936. More recently, Sir Michael Stoute brought four winners to the starting post, including three of Swinburn’s rides plus Russian Rhythm in 2003 with Kieren Fallon in the saddle.

Favourites tend to do quite well in the Coronation Stakes, especially of late. Ganati took the honours at 2/1 odds in 2009, and then Lillie Langtry won in 2010 at 7/2. Prior to that, joint-favourite Nannina triumphed at 6/1 in 2006, and Mi Emma did well to place in 2007. When Lush Lashes managed to win at 5/1 in 2008, the favoured Spacious came in fourth.

In looking for betting indicators for the Coronation Stakes, the 1,000 Guineas and Irish 1,000 Guineas provide the best guides. Form in either race is can point to bona fide prospects. Those who seek ante post betting opportunities can find them at ladbrokes, bet365 and william hill as early as two months before post time. The betfair betting exchange also offers early odds and quite often at higher prices.

Go To bet365
Comment on this event
Your Name:
Your Email:
What is  + 7