Four Nations Betting

Four Nations is a highly popular annual Rugby League tournament that has existed in some form or other for more than a decade. It actually started out as a round-robin tournament among three teams, not four, contested by the representatives of the world’s three major Rugby League entities: the Australian Rugby League, the Rugby Football League representing Great Britain, and the New Zealand Rugby League. The top two teams then played a final match to determine the champion.

During its first iteration in 1999, the tourney had a corporate sponsor and was known as the Gillette Tri-Nations. The inaugural victor was Australia, defeating New Zealand by a score of 22-20 in Auckland. Five years passed before the second installment was conducted in 2004, this time with Australia trouncing England 44-4 in Leeds.

Leeds served as the finals venue once again in 2005, as New Zealand put of 24 points to embarrass a scoreless Australian side. But revenge was swift in 2006, the last tournament of the Tri-Nations era, with the Aussies besting the Kiwis in overtime 16-12 before their home fans in Sydney. As a testament to just how evenly matched the sides were back then, no team ever managed to go through the tournament undefeated.

In 2007 and 2008, the competition was suspended, at least partly due to other obligations to which each league had committed. Then, in 2009, a new format was devised that would allow one additional nation to join in the fracas. France was invited, but the result was nearly a carbon copy of 2004, with Australia beating England 46-16, again in Leeds.

In advance of the next Four Nations, another new wrinkle was added to permit even more nations to have a shot a being the fourth contender. A qualifying tournament was organised, the 2009 pacific Cup, and it involved the Cook Islands, Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, and Tonga. Papua New Guinea emerged to join the Big Three in Brisbane in 2010, but it was New Zealand’s year to win, 16-12, over the host Australia.

For 2011, Wales showed they have what it takes by winning the qualifying event, the 2010 European Nations Cup. However, it remains to be seen whether the Welsh side, or any other nation, will ever be able to break the stranglehold that the battle-tested trio have over Rugby League football.

All sorts of markets can be bet on for Four Nations rugby. The majority of the wagering ahead of the first match is ante post betting on the Outright Winner, which starts as much as a year ahead of the tournament. Odds can change weekly and need to be watched closely.

Once the Four Nations competition gets into full swing, betting on individual fixtures becomes the top choice. First try scorer, last try scorer, and top scorer are just a few of the match-by-match possibilities. Additional markets, such as those for in-running or live betting, will be available, as will accumulators for even greater payouts.

With lots of competition among bookmakers, it is relatively easy for punters to find great deals. Differences in odds can be discovered not only by making direct comparisons but also by checking a given bookmaker’s odds frequently to identify any changes in the numbers. Numerous versions of Free Bets are offered to new customers, too, including promo cash, bonuses, and rebates offered as incentives for first-time wagers.

Bettors should note that there is no Four Nations tournament scheduled for 2012. Instead, all of the national sides will be busy preparing for the 2013 Rugby League World Cup. The great Four Nations rivalries are expected to resume thereafter.

Go To bet365
Open Account Offer
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365.
Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.
Comment on this event
Your Name:
Your Email:
What is  + 7