ICC World Twenty20 Betting

One of the newest forms of the traditional sport of cricket is Twenty20. It involves two teams, each of which has a single inning, batting for a maximum of 20 overs. The international version played between two national cricket teams, often referred to as T20I, is governed by the International Cricket Council (ICC), which organises a biennial championship known as the ICC World Twenty20, aka the ICC World T20 or simply the T20 World Cup.

The inaugural ICC World Twenty20 took place in 2007, two years after Australia defeated New Zealand by 44 runs in the first ever Twenty20 International at Eden Park in Auckland. The venue chosen for the initial championship was South Africa, and the tournament consisted of a dozen teams, including all test-playing nations along with qualifiers. India took the title by besting Pakistan by 5 runs in the final at Johannesburg.

The second edition was held in England in 2009. That year, Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by 8 wickets in the final at Lord’s in London. Thereafter, a decision was taken by the ICC to move the event to even-numbered years, resulting in the third installment being conducted in the West Indies in 2010. That’s when England prevailed in the final over Australia by 7 wickets at Kensington Oval, Barbados. Notably, it was England’s first ever ICC tournament victory.

Going into the 2012 ICC World Twenty20 hosted by Sri Lanka, 17 countries are in contention for the dozen places in the tournament. They are Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Bermuda, Canada, England, India, Ireland, Kenya, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, and Zimbabwe.

The format for the ICC World Twenty20 is not dissimilar to that used for football’s FIFA World Cup—round-robin matches in groups followed by a single-elimination round of semi-finals and finals. The ten top ranked test-playing nations are seeded and distributed among four Groups, A through D. They are joined by the top two finishers from qualifying matches held in February of the event year to make three contenders in each group. Only the group winners move on to the knock-out phase.

To the champion goes the prestigious ICC World Twenty20 Trophy, designed manufactured by Links of London. It features an ultra-modern look, rather like a torch made of silver and rhodium. The trophy’s total weight is 7.5 kilograms and it measures 51 centimetres high, 19 centimetres wide at the top, and 14 centimetres wide at the base.

Numerous markets are on offer for ICC World Twenty20 wagering. The most popular ante post betting is on the Outright Winner, beginning as early as two years out with odds changing weekly right up to the semi-final matches. As the draw become clear, other ante post opportunities open up, such as picking a team “To Reach Final” and the option to “Name the Finalists,” in which case both of the teams chosen must make it to the championship match. Accumulators can be set up, too, for even greater payout possibilities.

Once the tournament gets into full swing, Match betting becomes the wager of choice. Betting is also open on Top Batsman, Top Bowler, Highest Individual Score, and Highest Team Score. Other markets, such as those for in-running or live betting, will be available, too.

Thanks to the competition among bookmakers, punters can take advantage of differences in odds by making direct comparisons and checking back frequently to discover any shifts in the numbers. It is also a good idea to watch for Free Bets that are offered to new customers, along with promo cash, rebates, and bonuses that commonly used as incentives for first-time wagers.

Go To bet365
Comment on this event
Your Name:
Your Email:
What is  + 7