Czech MotoGP Betting

Back in the 1930s, Czechoslovakia was renowned for its racing events through the villages and western parts of the city of Brno. Racers of that era followed the 31-kilometre “Masaryk Circuit,” a road track named after the country’s first president, Tomáš G. Masaryk.

Also known as the Masarykův Okruh or Masarykring, the course hosted the Czechoslovakian Motorcycle Grand Prix from 1965 through 1991. The race was part of World Grand Prix Serie, with the exception of 1982-1987, when it was held as a part of the European Grand Prix Serie only.

In 1987, the Automotodrom Brno or “Brno Circuit” was inaugurated as a permanent track measuring 5,403 metres (3.357 miles). It is situated within the bounds of the original Masarykring roads. Although the impetus for creating the new circuit was to attract Formula One racing, it soon turned out that the Motorcycle Grand Prix became its most important event.

In 1993, when the country established its independence from the old Soviet Bloc, the annual 500cc World Championship motorcycle event sanctioned by the Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme (FIM) became formally known as the Czech Republic Motorcycle Grand Prix. Then, in 2002, FIM introduced new technical regulations permitting multi-stroke engines with capacities of up to 990cc, creating a new race class called MotoGP, and the annual fixture was rechristened the Czech MotoGP in 2003.

Today, the Brno event is administrated by commercial rights owners Dorna Sports under FIM supervision. Last modified in 1996, the 15-metre-wide track features six left corners and eight right corners, with the longest straight covering 636 metres (0.395 miles). Because the circuit was built in a natural bowl, it is banked at various points, which offers spectators some excellent views. The track also has frequent changes in elevation, sweeping across forested hillsides and testing both man and machine to the limit.

Among riders, Italian Valentino Rossi leads all others with four Czech MotoGP victories. Riding for Honda, he got his first two wins in 2003 and 2005 after he had previously won the 500cc version of the race in 2001. Rossi’s second two triumphs were delivered by Yamaha machines in 2008 and 2009.

Giving Rossi some tough competition is Australian Casey Stoner, who finished first on a Ducati in 2007 and then returned to the top of the podium in 2011 aboard a Honda. In 2006, Italian Loris Caprirossi won on a Ducati. Two Spaniards have also figured in the mix: Sete Gibernau won in 2004 and Jorge Lorenzo was successful in 2010.

Of special interest, Lorenzo is the only rider ever to have succeeded at Automotodrom Brno in all three major FIM categories. He won the Czech 125cc class in 2004 and the 250cc class (now Moto2) in 2006 and 2007.

Among constructors, Yamaha and Honda won every top race at Brno between 1990 and 2005, with seven and eight wins, respectively. Ducati had two big years, 2006 and 2007, but with engine size limited to 800cc thereafter, Yamaha prevailed from 2008 through 2010 and their string of victories was only just broken by Honda in 2011. Suzuki has never won a Czech MotoGP.

The Czech Republic will be the 13th stop of the 2012 MotoGP season, following two races in the United States. Two days of practice and qualifying runs on the Brno Circuit will begin on Friday, 24th August, then an undercard of 125cc and Moto2 races will kick off the Grand Prix fixture on Sunday, 26th August. In 2012, the MotoGP class itself will change once again, with engine displacements of up to 1,000cc allowed for the first time.

Short odds will follow the three fastest riders from the qualification session on Saturday afternoon, especially if any of them have shown good form in the preceding dozen races. There are typically about 18 entries in the Czech MotoGP, making for an exciting race spectacle from flag to flag.

Go To bet365
Comment on this event
Your Name:
Your Email:
What is  + 7