Moto GP Betting

In the world of motorcycle racing, the Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme (FIM) is the top organising body. It represents roughly 50 world championships and prizes, which encompass five different two-wheel disciplines: road racing, motocross, trials, enduro, and track racing. The FIM was also responsible the creation of the world’s first Grand Prix series in 1949.

Today, that series is best known as Moto GP, with an annual calendar comprising 18 races held in 14 countries. It also features three levels of racing: 125cc, the four-stroke 600cc Moto2, and the Moto GP class up to 800cc. Various weight and stroke restrictions apply, and the bikes that are used are so greatly modified that, unlike the factory-built machines used on the World Superbike circuit, they are not even allowed on regular streets.

Each year, the Riders’ World Championship is awarded to the pilot who is most successful over the course of the season, with a points system used for rankings based upon Grand Prix results. With 15 titles to his name, Italy’s Giacomo Agostini is the most successful champion, followed by Australian Mick Doohan, who won 12 of 15 races in the 500cc class during the 1997 season.

To be a winner on the Moto GP circuit requires a considerable amount of traveling for both man and machine. The season kicks off in March in Qatar and then travels through Europe to Spain, Portugal, France, Britain, the Netherlands, and Germany. En route to the finale in Italy in November, there are stops in Japan, Malaysia, Australia, and the United States, too. Twenty-five points are awarded for a win, 20 points go to the runner-up, and from there it is a sliding scale of 16, 13, 11, 10, and so on down to 4 points for twelfth position.

In the past decade, claiming the Championship has required a total of 300 points or more on every occasion but two, with the highest winning total being 383 points in 2010 and the lowest being 252 points in 2006.

Nowadays, four manufacturers dominate Moto GP competition: the Japanese triumvirate of Yamaha, Honda, and Suzuki joined by the sole representative from the rest of the world, Italy’s famed Ducati. A “duke” took the Constructor Championship in 2007, but other than that Japan has owned the track, with Yamaha and Honda each claiming the title five times between 2000 and 2010.

The top pilots, on the other hand, mostly hail from Europe. They include current World Champion Jorge Lorenzo and his compatriot Daniel Pedrose from Spain at the head of the pack. Rounding out the Top Ten are 2007 Champ Casey Stoner of Australia, the 2006 winner Nicky Hayden and his fellow American Ben Spies, Randy De Puniet from France, and four pilots from Italy, including seven-time World Champion Valentino Rossi. After dominating Moto GP from 2001 through 2005, Rossi triumphed again in 2008 and 2009. Ironically, however, he has never ridden a Ducati to a title—only Honda and Yamaha.

Ante post betting on which pilot and manufacturer will triumph in the overall competition attracts the most action at bookmakers. Wagers can be made on the outright Moto GP Champion as early as mid-November—months before the season actually begins. Thereafter, bets on each race can also be made, including who will be the pole winner, the race winner, the first retirement, the average speed over/under, and other aspects of the race.

In 2012, several changes will be introduced to the Moto GP regulations, not the least of which is an increase in the maximum engine displacement permitted to 1,000cc. This action is being taken in concert with the reduction of Friday practice sessions and bans on active suspension, launch control, and ceramic composite brakes, among other new rules.

Go To bet365
Comment on this event
Your Name:
Your Email:
What is  + 7